Stupid Cupid

Greetings Earthlings!!

Let me start by saying that I was never one to place much (if any attention) on Valentine’s Day.

I never was one for celebrating it and rarely bought a gift for whichever unfortunate guy happened to be in my life at that time. However, for the past 7 years I have guy (s) in my life that viewed me as a girlfriend, with girlfriend potential, or had some ‘special’ interest in me and my time. However, for the 1st time in many many (maybe an exaggeration) years I am not only single, but without prospects. {The fact that I am currently single  by choice doesn’t make me any less single.}

So what I have decided to do is treat myself for Valentine’s Day.

I need to take a week off my regular activities and spend one day, just one day, on myself. Unfortunately, however, Monday may not be the best day for that. So I hereby postpone my own Valentine Day to a day in the future.

I have been composing this blog for about a week. I started with the topic. Started thinking about the post. The more I thought about it, the more I realized that I needed this alone time, I needed this break. I needed to refocus my energy and efforts on me. I need to remember what made me fall in love with me on the first day we met. That’s right. I need to reclaim my first love.

 

It had been a foregone conclusion that one needs to love one’s self before entering a relationship. It was also a foregone conclusion that one needs to know one’s self before entering a relationship. It was another well known fact that you need to be at peace with being alone and enjoying one’s own company before one seeks to aim to bring someone into the circus of their life. Being in a relationship (I think) is not about finding someone that ‘completes’ you, it about finding someone that complements (and compliments) you. So, how can you find someone that complements you, if you don’t know you?

 

So, I ‘publicly’ declare that I, Dettie Blake, is taking one year off from all intimate relationships and will, instead focus my attention on the responsibilities bestowed upon me. These include, but are not limited to, work, church, family and community. I intend to give of myself completely to the cause and will do that which is within my power to make these programmes a success. This however, does not mean that I will be living like a prude. Au contraire, this interaction is vital. I will continue to socialize with members of the opposite sex in an effort to get to know myself better and also to get to know them better so that I will be better equipped when this one year sabbatical is over.

But as luck (good luck or bad luck?< to be decided) I got a Valentine proposal the Thursday before Valentine’s Day. Of course I turned it down, for many reasons. Not only would it infringe on my sabbatical, but he was too young, and I had ‘purposed in my heart’ that I’m NOT doing that again. Once bitten, Twice shy. Lessons learnt.

So HaPpY vAlEnTiNe’S dAy to all.

I have nothing against the day, nor do I get overly sad or depressed because of the love that’s in the air. Instead, I am happy for the day. I am glad, because it shows that all is not lost. There is still love in the world. There is still hope that one day Cupid will draw back his bow, and let his arrow go, straight to my lover’s heart…

Live and Love God..

Peace,

2 Comments

  1. Nakeshia Wellington

    “I need to remember what made me fall in love with me on the first day we met.” <<< My favourite line 🙂 No other comments…. lol… 🙂

  2. Maro

    The idea is interesting… But I don’t think love cares whether you have heart plans or not. Out of the blue you may just find yourself wondering if the distant memory of a sabbatical was 2001, 2011, 2010… one a dem. I hope you find a reason to skip for a lifetime 😉 and learn another lesson.

    —think not you can direct the course of love, for love, if it finds you worthy, directs your course.

Leave a comment